Sea The Stars honoured at the Cartier Awards
By Josh Allen

Sea The Stars collection of trophies has grown even bigger, after the record breaking racehorse was named best three year old and Cartier Horse of the Year for 2009.

His trainer John Oxx also received recognition for his efforts, as he won the Award of Merit; a title which is given to the person who has made the greatest contribution to British racing over past 12 months.

In truth, the event was only ever going to be dominated by one horse, coming as it did, after a season in which Sea The Stars caught the imagination of the entire racing fraternity, with a string of stunning performances, including his remarkable run in the Royal Ascot .

In doing so, not only did he surge to six successive Group One victories but he also managed what no other horse had done before – to win a near mythical treble of the 2,000 Guineas, Epsom Derby and Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe.

The other contenders for the main award were Mastercraftsman, Goldikova, Conduit and Ghanaati but while they are all undoubtedly fine horses, Sea The Stars has proved himself to be a cut above the rest.

Speaking at the event, John Oxx was happy to lavish praise on his star attraction.

“We had big hopes for him and at the start of the year after winning the Guineas we knew we had a good one, but you can’t expect that a horse is going to go through and win six like that, one every month. 

“It was marvellous to have him and we’re very lucky.”

Elsewhere at the awards, it was also a special year for Yeats, who was recognised for a fourth successive victory in the Royal Ascot , by picking up his fourth Cartier award, as he was named Champion Stayer of the Year.

Cartier Awards in full
Best two year old (male)         –  St Nicholas Abbey
Best three year old (male)      –  Sea The Stars
Best two year old (female)      –  Special Duty
Best three year old (female)  –  Sariska

Best Older Horse                    –  Goldikova
Champion Stayer of the Year  –  Yeats

Sprinter of the Year                 –  Fleeting Spirit

Horse of the Year                    –  Sea The Stars

Award of Merit                         –  John Oxx

"If you've enjoyed this article, please be sure to forward it to a friend!"
Free Racing Toolbar - Results, Live Radio Coverage of every race in Australia and the UK -